Lord, grant me patience…And I want it right now!

TFA

“ For you have need of patience,

that after ye have done the will of God,

ye might receive the promise.”

Hebrews 10:36

 

Thought for the Week:

     Wow! There it is. How often have each of us thought we were following the Lord’s lead, but when things don’t happen when we think they should, we give up… And take things into our own hands.

     The verses that follow this verse continues to talk about the fact that people often lose their blessings because they didn’t have patience.

     I remember a time when my parents had moved to Charlotte, NC. I’d gone from New York to visit. But while there, I also had some business to attend to and some other things planned while in the area. My father was getting ready to fly out on business, so we’d agreed to meet at 7:00 p.m. so we could visit while we drove to the airport.

     I had watched the clock to be sure time didn’t get away from me. I was diligent about being there on time (Not my normal forte). But when I arrived, I noticed that the Datsun, (the car they usually drove) was gone. The Plymouth was still there, but I was sure Dad was afraid I’d be late and had left without me. Sadness and disappointment hit me as I approached the door. I rang the bell, sure that no one would answer. But the door opened. And it came over me like a thunderclap, “I wonder how many times I’ve been off and running at five minutes to 7:00, sure that God is not going to show up on time.”

     As it turned out the Datsun was in the shop. My father was there waiting for me.

     Our heavenly Father is always on time. He doesn’t leave without us… And we need not to leave without Him. He will show up just on time. Be patient. He knows what He’s doing.

 

About J. Brooke-Harte

My desire is to draw eyes to my first love, Jesus Christ. Encouragement is my objective. I love people from all walks of life and backgrounds. My life experience has been varied, including work as a singer/recording artist, marketing director, youth pastor, college Dean of Students, author, entrepreneur, counselor, and President of the Foundation Association, Inc. I hope to share some thoughts that bless and brighten your day. Psalm 42:1 " As the deer pants for the water brooks, so pants my soul after you, O God."
This entry was posted in Patience and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment